DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

Saint Louis University's Department of Physics offers a Bachelor of Science in Physics and a minor in physics. Faculty in the SLU Department of Physics conduct research in many areas, including nanotechnology, superconductivity, quantum information, relativity, and biophysics — and undergraduate students are encouraged to get involved as soon as possible. All physics students have the opportunity to engage in cutting-edge physics research.

Minors in physics are useful to students in mathematics, computer science, engineering, and other sciences. Major-minor links between physics and other disciplines allow students to acquire valuable analytical and problem-solving skills.

Programs

- Mathematics, B.S. (Harris-Stowe State University) and Physics, B.S. Dual Degree (https://catalog.slu.edu/colleges-schools/science-engineering/physics/math-hssu-physics-dual-bs/)
- Physics, B.S. (https://catalog.slu.edu/colleges-schools/science-engineering/physics/physics-bs/)
- Physics, Minor (https://catalog.slu.edu/colleges-schools/science-engineering/physics/physics-minor/)

Faculty Leadership

Irma Kuljanishvili, Ph.D.

Department chair

Faculty

Gregory L. Comer, Ph.D.
Vijai V. Dixit, Ph.D., emeritus
John C. James, Ph. D.
Irma Kuljanishvili, Ph.D.
Martin Nikolo, Ph. D.
Jean Potvin, Ph.D.
Ian H. Redmount, Ph.D.
Thalanayar S. Santhanam, Ph.D., emeritus
David Wisbey, Ph.D.